Equipment needed for a meaningful garden ????

Assumptions that I will make are:

(1)   You are a family of four, husband, wife and two children.

(2)   You and/or your wife are employed full time.

(3)   Gardening is a therapy, but you enjoy the benefits of growing your own produce, financially and quality.

(4)   You have space available for gardening activities, including composting.

 

In my opinion, what you will need is:

(1)   You will need approximately a 20 cubic ft freezer or equivalent Ball/Mason jars and associated equipment.

(2)    I assume that you have two vehicles. One should be a pick-up truck or at least one should be equipped for towing a utility trailer. To be used for transporting,  free compost, manures (horse boarding, racetrack or zoos, to name a few?) or removing unwanted debris (should be minimal).

(3)    My boss when I was employed once asked me, when vegetables were so cheap, why did I bother gardening? My reply was, every time I pulled a weed, I thought of him (he did not know it at the time, but I was being truthful).  If you use the price/lb for any vegetable at the produce dept, I would save enough from the harvest from one vegetable to pay for the seeds and fertilizer for the entire garden. In addition, mine looked better and had much better taste.

(4)   In my opinion, If you use SFGing style, you will need app. an area about 20’ X  70’ for a family of four for a full years worth of vegetables. Also an area about 10’X 50’ for composting, based on a ½ acre lot with an average amount of garden, landscaping and trees. This area could very greatly based on the vegetables you decide to grow.

 

A few people tend to over complicate gardening. In addition, I think that many of them never did any gardening they just read textbooks. They are probably turning many young people off from gardening by there implied complexity. I strongly believe in NIKE’S slogan “Just Do It” and any corrections should be small. Also, keep checking the many gardening forums for help.

 

Any comments, additions or corrections, positive or negative will be appreciated.

 

Thanks, John

Categories: My Gardening Journals | Tags: , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Equipment needed for a meaningful garden ????

  1. engineeredgarden

    John – the 4 assumptions fit me to a “T”. Also, we have 2 vehicles, with mine being a truck, of course!
    Concerning canning equipment, I have (48) quart jars, (24) 12 oz. jars, and approx. (12) 8 oz. jars. About 75% of these were used for preserving various things from the garden and orchard, and all will be filled next year. Approximately 12 gallons of veggies and fruits were frozen, as well.
    I feel that I could raise enough food in a 400 sqft garden to feed my family for the whole year. It’s all about trellises!!!

    I also think that people try to over-complicate the garden process, and all it takes it commitment, trial and error, and a good diary of past experiences.

    That’s EG’s take on it. Thanks for everything, John.

    Like

  2. ribbit

    Haven’t quite gotten to the canning stage yet, but I’m all for trial and error learning!!! I’ve got 3/4 assumptions. Space is my issue. However, we’ve got at least 20 houses in our neighborhood either unfinished or foreclosed on….I’m wondering if anyone would notice the random SFG in the back yards….

    Like

  3. luv2grdn

    I’m having a heck of a time getting this to post. Last try!

    This year I finally got a chipper shredder, which I should’ve done years ago. It incorporates waste back into the garden, thus eliminating the need to haul it off or, in my case, to burn it. We don’t have our usual burn pile built up from the summer prunings.

    I couldn’t be without my trusty garden cart, the big wheeled wood one. It doesn’t take much effort to move it, because of the weight being centered over the wheels, so it has suited me for many years.

    Like

  4. LOL, first time I left a comment on your blog I got lost! It was supposed to go here, so I copied and I’ll paste where it belongs:

    John, may I add the one thing I didn’t have, but really needed this year? A pressure canner. Most vegetables, salsa, etc. MUST be pressure canned for safety. Not everything can be frozen or canned in a water bath. So that is the first thing on my gardening list for next year!

    I notice you didn’t include any gardening tools. A spading fork for turning compost, a trowel, scissors and a rake are the about the only tools I need for my garden.

    A bucket. A nice big one to carry things in, to sit on, to prop stuff up with.

    Like

  5. LOL, first time I left a comment on your blog I got lost! It was supposed to go here, so I copied and I’ll paste where it belongs:

    John, may I add the one thing I didn’t have, but really needed this year? A pressure canner. Most vegetables, salsa, etc. MUST be pressure canned for safety. Not everything can be frozen or canned in a water bath. So that is the first thing on my gardening list for next year!

    I notice you didn’t include any gardening tools. A spading fork for turning compost, a trowel, scissors and a rake are the about the only tools I need for my garden.

    A bucket. A nice big one to carry things in, to sit on, to prop stuff up with.

    Like

  6. LOL, first time I left a comment on your blog I got lost! It was supposed to go here, so I copied and I’ll paste where it belongs:

    John, may I add the one thing I didn’t have, but really needed this year? A pressure canner. Most vegetables, salsa, etc. MUST be pressure canned for safety. Not everything can be frozen or canned in a water bath. So that is the first thing on my gardening list for next year!

    I notice you didn’t include any gardening tools. A spading fork for turning compost, a trowel, scissors and a rake are the about the only tools I need for my garden.

    A bucket. A nice big one to carry things in, to sit on, to prop stuff up with.

    Like

  7. LOL, first time I left a comment on your blog I got lost! It was supposed to go here, so I copied and I’ll paste where it belongs:

    John, may I add the one thing I didn’t have, but really needed this year? A pressure canner. Most vegetables, salsa, etc. MUST be pressure canned for safety. Not everything can be frozen or canned in a water bath. So that is the first thing on my gardening list for next year!

    I notice you didn’t include any gardening tools. A spading fork for turning compost, a trowel, scissors and a rake are the about the only tools I need for my garden.

    A bucket. A nice big one to carry things in, to sit on, to prop stuff up with.

    Like

  8. LOL, first time I left a comment on your blog I got lost! It was supposed to go here, so I copied and I’ll paste where it belongs:

    John, may I add the one thing I didn’t have, but really needed this year? A pressure canner. Most vegetables, salsa, etc. MUST be pressure canned for safety. Not everything can be frozen or canned in a water bath. So that is the first thing on my gardening list for next year!

    I notice you didn’t include any gardening tools. A spading fork for turning compost, a trowel, scissors and a rake are the about the only tools I need for my garden.

    A bucket. A nice big one to carry things in, to sit on, to prop stuff up with.

    Like

  9. LOL, first time I left a comment on your blog I got lost! It was supposed to go here, so I copied and I’ll paste where it belongs:

    John, may I add the one thing I didn’t have, but really needed this year? A pressure canner. Most vegetables, salsa, etc. MUST be pressure canned for safety. Not everything can be frozen or canned in a water bath. So that is the first thing on my gardening list for next year!

    I notice you didn’t include any gardening tools. A spading fork for turning compost, a trowel, scissors and a rake are the about the only tools I need for my garden.

    A bucket. A nice big one to carry things in, to sit on, to prop stuff up with.

    Like

  10. jbest123

    As you all can see, there is a lot that I forgot. I should have let Mrs.B proof read it first. I have been concentrating on SFGing as of late and compared to conventional gardening, there is almost nothing you need. I should have remembered little things like a shredder and area to compost in. Maybe I could have titled the entry “What you can sell when converting from conventional to SFGing.

    John

    Like

  11. Morningglory

    I am learning more and more..even tho I have gardened…”maturing”..lol.. leaves me to find ways to do it with less effort..and more fun.. I too can..and freeze..and help supply some of the family who are now starting to do their own..so NOW I can help show them even more..and direct them to those who have and continue to learn and make this so much fun..thanks John

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

