Cuttin Farwoood (thats for EG)

After they got finished logging the farm there were several logs the sawmills would not take because of bad spots in the center of the logs. You can zoom in on the logs and you will never guess what kind of wood they are. It was a chance to get some easy firewood for the fireplace. It was very easy to park right beside the logs and start cutting. It would only take two logs to fill the trailer and the truck, almost a full cord. I keep my equipment behind the seat in the truck. In the first photo, the trailer is almost full and the cut pieces and the log closest to the truck filled the remainder of the trailer and the truck.

1stload

In this photo, I have the second load cut and loaded, and about to head home, about 50 mi. I estimate there were about 4 – 6 more loads. Because of limited space, I had to split and stack the wood to make room for the next load. A week later I returned for the next load and guess what, the pile was gone, vanished into thin air. I got my third load but not quite as easy and there was enough wood left to last my lifetime. Well guess what again, that was in 2006 and today, all the wood is gone. It makes it difficult to keep a rosy mental photo of mankind.

2ndload

 

p.s. the logs in the photo are sassafras and it smells great in a fireplace.2ndload2

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Cuttin Farwoood (thats for EG)

  1. engineeredgarden

    Hey John. I have some sassafras on my property. I like ’em, because it’s the only tree that has three distinctly different shaped leaves. Anyway, I used to have to help my Daddy go get “farwood”, and he used to make us even put some in the cab of the truck. He wanted to get his money’s worth! Ha!

    EG

    Like

  2. jbest123

    EG, I use to do the same thing before my kids scattered.

    John

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

