Square Soil Blocks

Well, I found a square container the size I wanted. It is a Tupperware type and if my DW does not find out, I will be in good shape. I followed the same procedure as the round one and it produces a 2″ X 2″ X 2″  soil block with a divot.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA 

.My mix of 50/50 fine compost and fine vermiculite + 1/2 cup of dried blood per cubic ft of mix seem to be holding together well

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now if I can get the rest of my apple trees pruned, I will be able to start planting seeds in about 2-3 weeks.

Categories: soil blocks | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Square Soil Blocks

  1. engineeredgarden

    I knew you’d figure it out, John. I racked my brain, and couldn’t think of anything that would work. Looks like you’re set, now!

    EG

    Like

  2. That’s cool! Can I assume that the plunger is made from the bottom of the container you cut to be the soil block maker? If so, I think I can figure out the rest.

    Thanks John! Great looking soil blocks and maker! Glad you found what you’re looking for.

    Like

  3. jbest123

    I think I am going to throw sinfonian for a loop here. The reason I could not think of anything is I was not thinking upside down. I just popped the lid off and turned the container upside down like a cookie cutter. I then drilled a hole in the bottom that is now the top. I used a piece of Plexiglas for the plunger.

    John

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

