Happy New Gardening Year

After watching, Granny, EG and Safonian and eating my heart out, it is finally time for me to start my plants. Today I started my peppers:

Ten Big Dipper

Ten Red Bell

Ten Poblano

Five Picante

Five Sweet Bananas

Five Midway Red

 

The first photo shows the pepper seeds in the little divots. I placed two seeds in each divot, with this being my first time trying soil blocks, I wanted a little safety factor for success.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 The brass acorn nut makes a divot close to ¼” deep, which for most of my plants will be ideal. I filled the divots with fine grind vermiculite.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  I placed the seed flat on a heated bed of sand @ about 80 deg f and placed a humidity dome over it. The air temperature inside of the cabinet ranges from 60-65 deg f during the day and 50-55 deg f at night. Which I think is ideal.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Just a few minutes later, you can see the condensation collecting on the inside of the chamber. It seams that everything is working the way it should. Any way the 2009 growing season is underway and I feel like celebrating.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The humidity dome app. 24 hours later.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If you snap your finger on the dome, the condensation runs down the sides and you can see what is going on inside without opening the dome.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Categories: My Gardening Journals | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “Happy New Gardening Year

  1. engineeredgarden

    Good for you, John! I can’t wait to see how well your soil blocks perform.

    EG

    Like

  2. jbest123

    I think everything will work out for the germination. What I am anxious to see is how they do in the soil blocks. I hope they do well because it is a neat and quick way of starting the seeds. I did not pasteurize the compost though and I hope that did not screw things up. I did get it from the center of the pile where it attained 170 deg f, so I think it should be ok.

    John

    Like

  3. Looks really good, John. I’m happy to say I’ll be joining the “block party” just as soon as I get home, which will be a week from tonight. Wanna bet I’ll be up half the night making soil blocks, even after that 1200 mile drive?

    Granny

    Like

  4. Looks really good, John. I’m happy to say I’ll be joining the “block party” just as soon as I get home, which will be a week from tonight. Wanna bet I’ll be up half the night making soil blocks, even after that 1200 mile drive?

    Granny

    Like

  5. jbest123

    Granny, I thought you were heading home March 1st?

    John

    Like

  6. John, the plans were to head home either the first or the eighth. Snow was forecast for the 1st., so we opted for the 8th. We’re still supposed to hit some snow flurries, but daytime temps will be in the low to mid 40s so the roads should be fine. We have a couple of nasty mountain passes to go over.

    I’m thinking of incorporating some of my rabbit’s alfalfa pellets into my soil mix for the blocks. Peppers especially like extra nitrogen, and alfalfa pellets would provide a very safe slow release. I might even add a spoonful of corn meal as an anti-fungal/fertilizer. What do you think?

    Like

  7. John, the plans were to head home either the first or the eighth. Snow was forecast for the 1st., so we opted for the 8th. We’re still supposed to hit some snow flurries, but daytime temps will be in the low to mid 40s so the roads should be fine. We have a couple of nasty mountain passes to go over.

    I’m thinking of incorporating some of my rabbit’s alfalfa pellets into my soil mix for the blocks. Peppers especially like extra nitrogen, and alfalfa pellets would provide a very safe slow release. I might even add a spoonful of corn meal as an anti-fungal/fertilizer. What do you think?

    Like

  8. jbest123

    Even with the bottom heat and humidity chamber, I have never had a problem with fungus. There are people that swear by the corn meal though but I am no help there. Why not let the alfalfa pellets pass through the rabbits first. You would save yourself some coins.
    John

    Like

  9. ribbit

    Raising my glass to you, John! I’m just horridly jealous that you always seem to have celery on hand.

    Like

  10. I’m talking about maybe a cup full of pellets to an entire bag of soil mix. I use the pellets (50 pounds for $10)on my garden greens, and they seem to benefit from it. My tiny Netherlands Dwarf rabbit doesn’t poop enough to be of much good in the garden. The corn meal is also a mild fertilizer. I think I’ll try it, but I should do a control batch to see if there is any benefit.

    Granny

    Like

  11. I’m talking about maybe a cup full of pellets to an entire bag of soil mix. I use the pellets (50 pounds for $10)on my garden greens, and they seem to benefit from it. My tiny Netherlands Dwarf rabbit doesn’t poop enough to be of much good in the garden. The corn meal is also a mild fertilizer. I think I’ll try it, but I should do a control batch to see if there is any benefit.

    Granny

    Like

  12. I agree with John, I made about 20 blocks in 10 minutes, including going outside to get the soil mix.

    I’m interested in the sand/heat pad idea. I need a heat pad, but don’t want to spend a fortune on it. Very cool.

    Love the BM. Definitely a celebration in order. You started the craze and you were last to the party, hehe

    Like

  13. John, everything looks good. I have been keeping up with the soil blocks. I can’t wait to see how everything comes out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

