Mother Nature finally relented

Well maybe not with aging but the weather was beautiful. Sixty-five deg f and partly sunny. I was able to get the rest of my apple trees pruned and I am hoping to get them sprayed twice with oil spray before they blossom. She (MN) has not been very kind since early fall, I am hoping she will have a conscience and give us a nice growing season.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 While I was pruning the apple trees, the UPS truck showed up with my block of coco coir and new burners for the BBQ grill. Both will require there own entry for the journal. 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Categories: My Gardening Journals | Tags: , , , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Mother Nature finally relented

  1. Wow! That’s a big block! I don’t know about you, but I can hardly wait for spring- I’m hoping it will be a mild one after the winter we had. That greenhouse looks nice!

    Like

  2. Wow! That’s a big block! I don’t know about you, but I can hardly wait for spring- I’m hoping it will be a mild one after the winter we had. That greenhouse looks nice!

    Like

  3. Hi Tessa, that is a 10-pound block of Coco Peat (Coir) 11″x11″x6″. It is supposed to absorb 90# of water and expand to two cubic feet of peat. Thanks on the GH comment.

    John

    Like

  4. John, I can’t even see you in that little picture! I dare you to put a clickable thumbnail on your blog…I did 😉

    Granny

    Like

  5. John, I can’t even see you in that little picture! I dare you to put a clickable thumbnail on your blog…I did 😉

    Granny

    Like

  6. Granny, I thought I had, it was on the About Me page. I checked it after your commit and it turns out it was not clickable. I deleted the photo and reloaded it as a thumbnail but it still would not work so I increased the size to 550 wide. I am going to make a new page and see what happens.

    John

    Like

  7. Anonymous

    Hi John

    I came across your journal through garden web . I tried my hand at square foot gardening last year and failed miserably .
    I got mel’s mix but had very poor yield i dont know why .I wanted to see any cheaper alternatives this year, before i start

    I live in Chicago .I have a North west facing plot . I am interested in growing Asian veggies , can u please help me in laying a design for starting this year . Before sending a photo of the plot i would like to ask you if it is ok with you
    siri

    Like

  8. Hi siri, I would love to but this time of year, I will be lucky to get my own work done. For this year I would suggest posting your specific questions on the SFG forum with photos. If you do not have any luck, check back this winter.

    John

    Like

  9. Granny, the thumbnails are working.
    John

    Like

  10. engineeredgarden

    That’s good news, John! What kind of apple trees do you have? Also, what do you do with them, make applesauce?

    EG

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

