Soil Block Recipe Continued

This morning I got 16 core samples from eight beds just like the one in an earlier post. I put them in a homemade tumbler for 10 min along with about a dozen #3 river rock. The coarse compost on top of the core sample must be structurally week because there is not much sign of it now.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I then put the blocking soil in a microwave for 15 min. to kill all of the weed seeds and any living critters that might do the seedlings harm. This is what the soil looked like after nuking.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I made one test block to see how it would hold together. It is more porous than it looks in the photo also; I am considering using some vermiculite to make it a lighter soil.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

As usual, all comments are welcome.     John

Categories: soil blocks | Tags: , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Soil Block Recipe Continued

  1. Are you kidding? 15 minutes in a microwave and you still have dirt afterwords? Insane. It’s still nutritous afterwards? Good to know!

    Like

  2. I do a plastic shoe box full at a time and it just fits the MW. It takes 15 min to get to 160-165 deg.

    John

    Like

  3. John, how bad does it smell while you’re nuking it? I probably wouldn’t want to do it in my kitchen, but if I took the microwave out to the garage, would it stink up the microwave so I’d not want to cook with it again? I just made a new batch of blocks and didn’t get the mixture quite as wet as before. I think they are better…looser, but still passing the “pick up” test.

    Like

  4. John, how bad does it smell while you’re nuking it? I probably wouldn’t want to do it in my kitchen, but if I took the microwave out to the garage, would it stink up the microwave so I’d not want to cook with it again? I just made a new batch of blocks and didn’t get the mixture quite as wet as before. I think they are better…looser, but still passing the “pick up” test.

    Like

  5. Surprisingly there is almost no Oder. Mr. H may have you committed though. ;o)
    John

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

