Sometimes your mind is changed for you

While cleaning up the shop, I checked the potato chitting progress. To my surprise, some of the sprouts were turning black near the very tip. I do not know if it was the low humidity or the temperature variation but it never happened when they sprouted in the fruit cellar. I decided to plant them as soon as possible.p50802252 

 

My potato beds are 2’ wide and I use a folding rule as a guide to plant location. I will start 6” form the end of the bed with the first row and 12” from the end of the bed with the second row which stagers the plants from row to row. A bulb planter works nice in compost to produce a 2” hole 5” deep which is perfect for the small seed potatoes.p5100228 

 

Here you can see the full bulb planter and the hole I just made with the spud in place. I use the small end of a dial rod to poke the compost out of the planter and back into the hole. The pieces of mini-blind slats are used to mark the location of the last spud in a row. If I have to leave for some reason, it can be difficult to see where I stopped.p5100229

 

After all seed potatoes are planted, I top-dressed the beds another 3” bringing the depth of the seed potatoes to 8”.p5100230

 

I also planted the potato tower and top-dressed it. All potatoes that were planted today were Kennebec and were planted in the same fashion.p5100227 

 

I could not help noticing how the Yukon Gold potatoes were growing. They were planted two weeks to the day before this photo. If the Kennebec potato in the tower grows this fast, it will require daily attention and early in the morning before the sun hits the plant stem. I think I understand why some people say they got additional potatoes but it was not worth the effort. Nevertheless, I am going to try to do it correctly and we will see what happens. As usual, all comments are welcome.   Johnp5100231 

Categories: Square Foot Gardening | Tags: , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Sometimes your mind is changed for you

  1. Good luck with the potatoes. I had next to no success with them last year, but I’m trying again this year anyway.

    I just noticed that your head picture changes. That’s really cool.

    Like

  2. Great looking potato post! Hehe I saw one of those bulb planters at a discount supermarket and thought it was cool but didn’t see what it was for. Very cool! Next time I’ll grab one for $3.

    I notice that your tower has a water system at the bottom, I wonder if that’s all it takes to water your plant as it grows up the tower? I will be watering from the top compared to you at the bottom. Very curious indeed.

    Yet another post that tells me I need to plant my yukon golds, sheesh I’m lazy.

    Thanks for sharing! I told yet another person about your great soil block maker, thanks again for making me one!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

