I dig potatoes

2009-05-26

 

While not yet, but I am looking forward in anticipation. The Yukon Gold potatoes are growing gangbusters.

pt9

 

They were planted 8”deep 16 days ago and are now 16+” tall.

pt10

 

I do not remember what day I planted the Kennebec potatoes but they broke through the surface about 4-5 days ago.

pt8

 

Which brings me to the potato tower; I planted one Kennebec spud in the tower 8” deep the same time as the other Kennebec spuds.

pt1

 

It broke through the surface the same day as the first Kennebec spud in the beds and I quickly put the first tier in place.

pt2

 

This is a close-up of the previous photo.

pt3

 

The next morning I filled the tier about half way and placed some compost up against the plant to the leaves.

pt6

 

This is a close-up of how I covered the plant. It is about 2-3” below the surface of the compost.

pt5

 

By the next morning, it had grown another couple of inches and I pulled some compost into the hole covering the stem.

pt4

 

I repeated this for two more days and the tier was full.

pt7

 

I added the second and last tier and will repeat the process until it is full. The tower is 20 ½” tall and that should be enough to show if the process works for me or not. As usual, all comments are welcome.    John

pt12

Categories: My Gardening Journals, Potato, Potato Tower, Square Foot Gardening | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

