There’s trouble in River City

Late blight on tomatoes and maybe on potatoes. Well until last week, I did not know what I had. I knew that I was having some sort of problem with the tomatoes what I did not know was that it could also affect the potatoes. What a bummer. It is the same blight that struck Ireland in the 1840s

 This is what the tomatoes looked like the middle of July.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is what they looked like a few days later I knew it was not blossom end rot.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was clear that every thing had to go.

The next two photos are of the same spot before and after the blight. There were between 30 and 40 tomatoes on each plant.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

P7250005

P8030029

The vent to the GH is right behind the tomato plants. Now do I have to fumigate the GH or what????

P8020025

 As usual, all comments are welcom.         John

Categories: My Gardening Journals | Tags: , , , , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “There’s trouble in River City

  1. Oh no, sorry to hear about that. It has been one tough season that for sure.

    Like

  2. ribbit

    Oh my goodness, John!!! I’m so sorry. So, so sorry. Now I know that blight does travel, but I don’t know how, so I’m not sure about your greenhouse. Hopefully someone will. Possibly EG? Maybe he learned about it in his MG classes.

    Like

  3. That truly sucks. I hope you were able to at least save some of your tomatoes.

    Like

  4. So very very sorry… and sad for your loss….

    Like

  5. John, what a bummer! I’ll bet you are just sick…no tomatoes or potatoes? I’m so sorry!

    Like

  6. jbest123

    Thanks all, I was able to save about 10 tomatoes and the potatoes look great I am crossing my fingers. The spores travel through the air and the big box stores. John

    Like

  7. John, I am so sorry to read this. Your before and after photos show clearly how awful this disease is. It happens that fast, does it? How devastating. I’ve been keeping up with the news about Late Blight this year as it has affected so many.

    I’m not sure about your greenhouse, but Late Blight isn’t supposed to survive freezing temperatures. Here is a link that may be helpful: http://www.cnycentral.com/news/news_story.aspx?id=331260

    It is also suggested that after the plants are removed and disposed of that the gardens be sprayed with an approved formulation of copper fungicide. Some growers are doing both an Oxidate spray, and then a copper fungicide spray.

    Again, I am so sorry.

    Like

  8. I just wanted to follow up with my previous post. I too have been struck by Late Blight. I spotted a suspicious blotch yesterday and confirmed it today.

    I have been informed that the disease only over winters in living tissue so if everything freezes you will be free of it, unless you have potatoes. If you are growing potatoes, look for volunteer sprouts next spring and kill them.

    Like

  9. engineeredgarden

    John, that is so unfortunate. I think most people up your way are experiencing the same thing. Your potatoes are looking very good, though!

    Like

  10. Sorry about the tomatoes John. I’m glad your potatoes survived. I had no idea that if destroyed the plants that fast.

    Like

  11. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

