Who sez potato rhizoms don’t grow on the stem?

Because of the Late Blight hitting my tomatoes this year, I terminated the potato plants in an effort to save whatever crop I had. The Yukon Gold potatoes look great and the Kennebec potatoes are smaller but the perfect size for DW and me. I could have left them grow but I did not want to take the chance. Since I did terminate the plants, I decided to harvest the first potato tower. I covered the building of and the growth of the tower in an earlier post. Now it is time to see what I got.

 

The tower is 20 ½” tall. I tied garden twine around the main sprouts and attached a bungee cord to keep the plant in position as I remove the compost from around the spuds and rhizomes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA 

This is the first spud I came to. It is about 16” above the seed potato I had planted. The rhizome and potato were growing horizontally not upward like many people say.

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The second spud was located about 13 1/2 “from the seed potato.

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here I started to remove the next level.

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There seams to be rhizomes with marble size potatoes everywhere.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA 

This is the potato plant as removed from the soil. It is about 20” from the tip of the green to the seed potato. There were three nice potatoes below the seed potato. I hope this answers some questions as where potatoes grow on a plant.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA 

The weight of the potatoes on this plant is meaningless but it was 3 lb 3 oz. As usual, all comments are welcome.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Categories: Potato Tower | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

