Storage for potatoes, sweet potatoes, apples, winter squash and such.

I have been increasingly dissatisfied with the storage of root crops in the fruit cellar. It is just a little to dry and warm for storage.  I end up storing stuff under the benches that I no longer use. Well I pitched it all and built a 22” X 22” X 8’ storage bin for roots and tubers in the GH. The side facing the camera is insulated with 1 ½’ of polystyrene and the two ends and backside are outside walls. The backside and right end are under ground.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 Here you can see the insulated front side and a wooden slat floor for air circulation. The lids are hinged at the back and the middle so they fold under the shelves of the GH.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

P8200004

Categories: Greenhouse Gardening, My Gardening Journals, Potato | Tags: , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Storage for potatoes, sweet potatoes, apples, winter squash and such.

  1. ribbit

    John, that’s just amazing! If the fruit cellar is too warm, wouldn’t this be warm as well?

    Like

  2. jbest123

    Thanks Ribbit, that is why I insulated the inside wall of the bin. I may have to cut some vent holes in the lids to let some BTUs out and paint the lids a gloss white. If it works, I will not have to carry 400-500 lbs of produce up and down the basement stares.
    John

    Like

  3. Grove

    I just found your site and will be watching it for more great tips. We have not tried potatoes yet, but we will this year and this is a great idea for storing them. We are in Utah and I hope to have a great 2010 season. I just received 8 yards of compost (horse manure and wood shavings) and have applied it generously to my garden and beds. Your posts on all compost gardening have helped me decide to use a lot of compost this year. Thanks!
    P.S. where are you located?

    Like

  4. Hi Grove and welcome, I live in SW PA. Also the potato bin is working great. John

    Like

  5. Manoj Kumar

    Can we store Potato seed with apple.
    what effects on seed potato of apple

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

