A vacation in the hospital


http://www.jbest123.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/09/Ernest-Tubb-In-The-Jailhouse-Now.mp3

What caused my trip to the hospital were heart arrhythmias. The symptoms can be a fluttering in your chest, a racing heartbeat, a slow heartbeat, chest pain, shortness of breath, lightheadedness, dizziness or fainting or near fainting and I have every damn one of them. Along with heart arrhythmias comes an increased chance of blood clots so the Doc put me on Coumadin (rat poison). As a result of that most of my other meds have to be changed and fine tuned which requires weekly blood tests, med adjustment and retesting. I feel like a porcupine turned inside out. I have to eat the same amount of vitamin K every day as it affects the Coumadin and could have very bad results. The table below shows various vegetable and the vitamin K they contain. Keeping track of my diet past and planning future diets for the amounts of vitamin K would be a hassle so I plan to avoid vegetables with high levels of vitamin K. As a result I will be giving many veggies away this year.

 

I have started planning next year’s garden as to what to plant where and the spacing and nutrient requirements.

 


Vegetables

Amount

Vitamin K

Artichoke

1/3

Low

Asparagus

7 spears

Medium

Green beans

3/4 cup

Low

Lima beans

1/2 cup

Low

Beets

1/2 cup

Low

Broccoli

1/2 cup

High

Brussels sprouts

5

High

White cabbage

2/3 cup

High

Carrot

1/2 cup

Low

Cauliflower

1/2 cup

Low

Celery

2 1/2 ribs

Medium

Swiss chard

1/2 cup cooked

High

Chives

2 cups chopped

High

Collard greens

1/2 cup

High

Cilantro

6 cups

High

Corn

2/3 cup kernels

Low

Cucumber (remove peel)

1 cup slices

Low

Eggplant

1 cup diced

Low

Endive

2 cups

High

Kale

1/2 cup

High

Leek

1 cup chopped

Low

Bibb lettuce

1 cup chopped

High

Red leaf lettuce

1 cup chopped

High

Iceberg lettuce

1/2 cup

Medium

Mustard greens

1 1/2 cups

High

Shiitake mushrooms

5 mushrooms

Low

Button mushrooms

1 cup

Low

Okra

1/2 cup

Medium

Green onion

2/3 cup

High

White or yellow onion

2/3 cup

Low

Parsley

1 1/2 cup

High

Parsnip

2 parsnips

Low

Green pepper

1/2 pepper

Low

Potato

1 medium

Low

Radish

1 cup sliced

Low

Spinach

1/2 cup cooked

High

Yellow squash

1/2 cup slices

Low

Acorn squash

1/2 cup

Low

Sweet potato

1 cup

Low

Tomato sauce (bottled)

1/2 cup

Low

Tomato

1

Low

Turnip

4 ounces

Low

Turnip greens

1 1/2 cups

High

Watercress

3 cups

High


Categories: Greenhouse Gardening, My Gardening Journals, Square Foot Gardening, Uncategorized | Tags: , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “A vacation in the hospital

  1. Oh, John….that’s so upsetting. Sometimes it’s just not much fun getting up to our age (but it beats the hell out of the alternative). Take care of yourself. Let’s hope the rat poison and diet control it. Many of my friends are on the same regimen, and living life to its fullest.

    Like

  2. That’s funny. All the leafy green vegetables that they recommend you eat are the ones that are on your high list.

    Like

  3. Yea Granny its better looking down at the grass than up at it. A friend once said, the only thing golden about the golden years is your urine. MN may slow me down but she won’t stop me until the end. John

    Like

  4. Cheryl I almost chocked on my wall paper past dinner when the dietition handed me the diet I am supposed to use. John

    Like

  5. That’s no fun at all. I hope they can get your meds adjusted quickly. My mom has some similar trouble (but she must not be on the rat poison b/c I haven’t heard any mention of limiting veggies).

    Like

  6. Hi Amy the testing will be on going but the frequency should spread out. John

    Like

  7. Aw, sorry, John! Feel better soon!

    Like

  8. Thanks sb158, nice journal/blog I got you on the side bar. John

    Like

  9. Yuck, John! I’ve been out of town and didn’t know. I hope you’ll do better soon, but Granny’s right. It’s all better than the alternative.

    Like

  10. petalfuzz

    Hey John! My mom is on the exact same drug, though her symptoms aren’t as severe as all that you listed. She eats what she wants and they test her blood once per month and make adjustments to her meds that way. But she’s also not a gardener nor is she eating dark leafy greens at every meal. So I feel for you! Good luck with everything 😉

    Like

  11. John Best

    Well, I don’t know how to read that table. What does low, med and high represent. I suppose ‘high’ is bsd, but can you eat two mediums and be OK, or is that a ‘high’?

    Like

  12. admin

    I don’t know either. That’s why I am avoiding all HI and limiting the medium. Dad

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

