October wine making time

I am only a year late on this task but its on the way. Last fall I bought two wine kits one was Black Berry Merlot and Green Apple Riesling. I made the Merlot last fall and it turned out great like looking into a ruby and great taste but low in alcohol. I raised the alcohol to about 7 1/2% in the Riesling and it is in the primary fermentation stage. In about five days I will rack it into another carboy to finish fermenting for about another 10 days. I will add a clearing agent and after 3-4 days it will be ready for bottling. It should be like looking into a yellow diamond.  John

Categories: Home Made Wine, My Gardening Journals | Tags: | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “October wine making time

  1. Tis the season! How long do you bottle age your wine? I’ve yet to make wine, really should one of these days. I have made lots of beer and cider since starting home brewing last year.

    Like

  2. admin

    The kit says you can drink it as soon as bottled but I think it is better after about two Mo.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

