Correction on the previous post

I posted about smoking meats inside with a range hood. It worked very well with propane and the small wood chip box but when I tried it with the off set fire box with sticks it overwhelmed the range hood. On one of the forums, someone posted this photo and it gave me 2nd, 3rd and 4th thoughts. My previous post was not a good idea and I hope that nobody tried to duplicate my setup. I think that is a very good demonstration of the value of the forums.

Categories: Smoking meats, Uncategorized | Tags: | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Correction on the previous post

  1. Oh my! This is a good lesson to heed. So glad someone on a forum was willing to share in order to teach a lesson.

    Like

  2. John Best

    Heck, I hate to suggest this because of the carbon monoxide hazard you’re fooling with, but here goes……what if you started a ‘feeder fire’ outside to make nice embers, then, with a shovel, bring just enough in to keep your hickory or applewood or whatever smoking?

    On my outdoor grill, I put a tuna can, filled with mesquite chips that I’ve soaked a bit in water. As the water dries out, and they get hot they start to smoke. A tuna fish can of chips makes a fair amount of smoke, and you can see the the redness from the smoke on the meat, and the taste sure is there as the final proof.

    There’s another aspect to this…..smoke penetration. I don’t think you need smoke the whole time you’re cooking to get the flavor, but how much smoke is needed and when?? On the outdoor grill, the tuna can method smokes decently for about 15 minutes or less, and it tastes good, but I wonder if it’s better to smoke early in the process or later.

    Heck, you might not even fool with charcoal to fire your smoking chips……what about a hotplate in the firebox with a tuna can on it? Should be easier to control the ‘combustion’ rate that way. If you can keep it just shy of igniting your smoking wood, it’s not even producing carbon monoxide. Get a thermocouple based temperature controller for the hotplate, and flood the tuna can with an inert gas to prevent combustion. Argon should do it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

