Looked the grim reaper right in the eye and won.

[audio:http://www.jbest123.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/1-The-Devil-Went-Down-To-Georgia1.mp3|titles=The Devil Went Down To Georgia]

My son John submitted this as a comment in another post. I think it deserves its own post.  Its about two months later and I just got home and I’m so weak I couldn’t pull a sick ho off a pi$$ pot. At this stage I don’t know if I will get in the garden or not, but I will be trying. 

To All folks who follow Johns Journal, Dad is in the hospital, St. Margarets in Pittsburgh.http://www.upmc.com/HospitalsFacilities/Hospitals/stmargaret/Pages/default.aspx

I wish I could say he’s doing better. He had a major surgery (part of aorta replaced) on Tuesday, he seemed to be doing pretty well on Wednesday, then took a bad
turn. He’s in a fight for his life. I’m fairly sure he won’t be back on his website for at least a good week or so. It’s probably going to take a good 6 weeks of healing, and though Dad’s fairly tough minded, some support sure can’t hurt, so, if anyone would care to send a card to him at the hospital, I reckon the nurses would get it to him. IF he’s going to get through this, it’s because he’s in the right frame of mind. I know his interactions with you folks are important to him.  john@best-instrument.com

Regards All,
John (John’s oldest Son)

Categories: My Gardening Journals | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Looked the grim reaper right in the eye and won.

  1. Good Lord, John! I missed your son’s comment, and never knew you were in the hospital. I hope you are feeling better my friend. You just take it easy, I’m sure your son will make sure the garden doesn’t get too neglected this year if you are unable to tend to it. I’ll certainly be sending you good vibes for a return to reasonably good health. That’s all we can hope for at our age. It’s hell getting old, and whoever called them the golden years must have been about 50.

    Like

  2. Oh My God, John! I had no idea you went through so much! You will be in my thoughts and prayers as you continue to recover.

    Like

  3. John, I’ve been absent fro the ‘world’ for so long and haven’t been keeping up with anyone’s posts, but saw this one come up in my blog roll and couldn’t have been more shocked and yet amazed. I wouldn’t have thought any less of you if you didn’t stare the reaper in the face and give him a wedgie. Much love and strength to you.
    Alex.

    Like

  4. I totally missed your son’s comment as well. We will be keeping you in our thoughts and prayers as you are on the mend. Take care.

    Like

  5. Philip, Maryland

    Hope you’re doing better, John. I enjoy your blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

