Paper Mache soil blocks

I thought about this early winter but got side tracked.  I will try Iceberg lettuce and Black beauty eggplant. It won’t be a big deal if it doesn’t workout because my son started plants for me and there are big box stores and lawn and garden centers near by.

I shredded 5 pages double page width of newspaper and folded them to fit in the shredder opening.

P3310001

The shredded newspaper was covered with water and left to set over night.

P3310003

The next morning I put the paper through a blender and strainer and I had my paper Mache slurry.

P4010004

I was able to make eight blocks out of this batch of slurry and will plant Iceberg lettuce in these. My next batch, I want to make extra slurry to have blocks to dry out and test them for rehydration.

P4010005

Categories: Accessible gardening, My Gardening Journals, soil blocks, Square Foot Gardening | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Paper Mache soil blocks

  1. How cool! I have never heard of making blocks out of paper before. Keep us posted on the results.

    Like

  2. Robin check the April 9th entry.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

