Composting 2009

I was not planning on Bloging about this today but decided it would be of interest to composters and soon to be composters. I finished shredding yesterday, last falls garden debris along with grass clippings, a few leaves, all the annual flowers, 11 hanging baskets, about 15 rotting pumpkins and 4 bundles of corn with ear corn attached. I thought I would have enough shredded material to fill one of my 3 X 3 X 3 bins and was planning to add some urea to get it to heat up. This morning, about 36-38 HRS after I started shredding, I was going to build my compost pile. To my surprise there was steam vapor coming off like crazy. I think I was grinning from ear to ear. Now I am planning on letting it set until it cools to about 120 DEG then add some urea and fill my bin.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I inserted my compost thermometer and sure enough, it was at 150 deg. I am hoping that, adding the urea and the aeration from filling my bin, it will reach or exceed 165 deg to kill any weed seeds that may be present.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Categories: Composting | Tags: , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Composting 2009

  1. Dan Staley

    John, do you have your own shredder, or do you rent, or do you use a mower? I can’t seem to get the better half to want to shred the garden waste, and the compost bin sits there…

    Dan

    Like

  2. Hi Dan, I bought an old W W Grinder on Craigs list. There is a photo in this post
    http://www.jbest123.thegardenjournals.org/?p=80
    John

    Like

  3. engineeredgarden

    John, i’m gonna sneak up there and put some liquid nitrogen on your pile. 🙂 It’s no fair!!! My piles have never got over 120….

    EG

    Like

  4. Hey John, check the compost again, I bet it’s in the 165 range with what you put in there. It may be lower due to the shape of your pile though.

    Great post. I need to work on my compost bin for 2009.

    Like

  5. EG, I have two bales of straw to compost and no greens or fresh HM. I may have to take you up on that.

    Sinfonian, I checked it this morning and it is about 150+ deg. I have never been able to hit 165 without using fresh HM or urea.

    John

    Like

  6. Is 165 required? I would think 150 should be fine for killing weeds. Not sure I guess.

    Like

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.