Happy New Parsnips!

Parsnip harvest on January 1, 2010?   Prior to today, about half of the 10 foot row of parsnips had been removed, one at a time, as my wife used them in soups since this fall.  Here it is January 1, and I’m lucky the ground isn’t seriously frozen.   This morning here in State College PA, it’s frozen only about 1-1/2 to 2 inches deep at most.  This morning it was an unusually warm 40 degrees out, so what better way to start off 2011 than to go out and dig in the garden a bit?

These are the two best ones.  There were a number of larger parsnips but they weren’t as pretty.    I weighed the harvest from about  5- 6 feet of a row, we got exactly 22 pounds (10 kilo’s) of parsnips without greens, but with a wee bit of soil.  I put them in a bag in the bottom of the beer fridge.

Regarding their use, they have a good taste, I’d say they add a bit of a sweetness, and can be added to almost any kind of soup.



Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Happy New Parsnips!

  1. OMG! I didn’t realize how large these were until I scrolled down to the $20 bill. Unbelievable!

    Like

  2. Wow, those are monster parsnips!! What a great New Year’s Day present from the garden!! Have a Happy New Gardening Year!!

    Like

  3. Happy New Year, John. I expect you to behave yourself in 2011! Happy gardening.

    Like

  4. John Best

    Thanks for the comments and kind words. Be careful not to confuse me with my Dad though……this is his website, but I pulled those parsnips up and had to share them somewhere. I have to give credit to my wife though……if she didn’t prepare such excellent food from what I grow, well, I’d not likely have more than a weed patch. Again, Happpy New Year to All, and I hope you all have a fantastic gardening year. John (W) Best.

    Like

  5. Those are whoppers! I planted mine this spring and they grew about the same size. I liked the late planted ones I grew the year before much better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

